Forget clicks, page views, and impressions; the only way to effectively track your online marketing ROI is through Cost-per-Action (CPA) analysis.
As the online advertising market is poised to grow nearly $10 billion over the next six years, it's essential that we remember the importance of measuring the effectiveness of that spending. There's no point undertaking any marketing or advertising campaign unless you can measure its results. And results are best measured in terms of return on investment (ROI).
Unfortunately, in the world of marketing and advertising, many businesses seem to be losing touch with their general objectives. The tools may have changed, but the principles remain the same ? Your advertising campaigns are only successful if they meet the objectives you set out to achieve. So if you're after increased sales, you need to measure the cost of each sale generated to determine your return on investment.
Fortunately for advertisers, tracking ROI for online advertising is much easier than it is for traditional forms of advertising, such as TV, Radio, Newspaper, Magazine, and Billboard. When you market online, every advertising campaign can be tracked and measured all the way down to the penny. This is why more and more advertising dollars are being spent online every day.
Why Not Cost-Per-Click or Cost-Per-Impression?
When it comes to tracking campaign effectiveness, many businesses rely on Cost-per-Click (CPC) and Cost-per-Impression (CPM) statistics. But what many people forget is that for most businesses, clicks and impressions don't earn you money. So by tracking clicks and impressions, you're not really tracking return on investment. The same is true of page stats.
If you're like most businesses, impressions, clicks, and page views are simply a means to an end. (In fact, without corresponding sales conversions, they're nothing more than unjustifiable expenses.) If you only earn revenue from sales, you need statistics linking costs and sales. In other words, you need to measure cost-per-action (CPA).
Cost-Per-Action (CPA)
In a CPA campaign, you run an online ad on third party sites and they charge a commission when a lead is generated or converted. It's performance-based pricing. This means the publisher wears most of the advertising risk, as their commissions are dependent on good conversion rates.
Perhaps the most widespread use of CPA is affiliate marketing. With affiliate marketing, you determine what actions you will reward and how much you're willing to pay per action. For example, you might engage an affiliate site to promote your business. If they generate sales for your business, you can pay them a commission. Your cost-per-action would then be the cost per sale or lead generated.
Tips on Conversion
The following conversion tips will help you plan your CPA campaign and avoid some common pitfalls.
1) How are sales and leads recorded?
For many businesses, the obvious result which constitutes a conversion is a sale. If your sale is recorded or registered online (e.g. e-commerce), it can be considered a measurable action. This means you can choose a sale as the desired action in your CPA campaign.
Depending on the aim of your campaign, you may want to measure other outcomes in addition to, or instead of, sales. For instance, you might measure leads in the form of membership registrations, newsletter subscriptions, software downloads, or just about any other activity beyond simple page browsing. So when your customer clicks register, or subscribe, or download, etc., the conversion is automatically registered and the details are fed back you're your CPA campaign.
In either case, at any time, you can log in and view your campaign results in real time.
2) Set up a landing page to capture lead contact details
If you're paying for leads, you obviously need to know when a lead is actually generated. Generally a lead becomes a lead only when the customer supplies you with their details (name, contact numbers, email, etc.). This means you need to set up a landing page on your site capture these details. Your capture page can be collect contact information or it can be as simple as a signup for a monthly newsletter.
3) Get your CPA provider to set up your landing page
If you don't have the time, inclination, or resources to set up the necessary forms and database on your own site, the CPA provider can do it on their hosted server. They collect the leads and calculate the statistics. For many businesses, this is the ideal option because it saves them time and money, and there are no tracking discrepancies.
4) Find a CPA provider you can trust
If your CPA provider will be collecting leads and calculating statistics, you need to know you can trust them. There are plenty of trustworthy providers out there; you just need to find them. A trustworthy provider will find out what your exact needs are and spend time researching your niche market online. By performing this marketing analysis, your provider will be able to tell you exactly how much business they can bring you on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis. If they can't provide you with this important information, then this is a good indication that you are not speaking with a professional internet marketer.
Just as importantly, with a trustworthy provider you'll be able to personally speak with the internet marketer who will be working on your project. This person will be an expert in the field of internet marketing, not just a sales rep.
5) Avoiding excess fees
WARNING: Some CPA providers charge a setup fee ($2,500 to $10,000) and/or a network fee (20% to 30%) for each sale or lead that is generated. Before committing to a provider demanding high fees, make sure you are getting more for your money. Most of the time high fees simply mean the sales rep is getting a higher commission!
6) Measuring your conversion rate
The Formula for measuring CPA is by dividing the total cost per advertising campaign by the total number of actions (conversions) that were received from each ad campaign. For example, if your online ad campaign costs $1,000 and generates 50 sales or leads, your cost per action (CPA) is $20.00 each.
7) Improving your conversion rate
A high conversion rate depends on several factors:
Because CPA allows you to identify exactly how much it will cost to acquire a customer, there's no guesswork involved. You have the ability to precisely calculate your ROI. And because online tools and ad serving technologies allow you to monitor effectiveness in real time, you can even tweak campaigns while they're still running. If you can master effective online advertising, you'll not only save thousands in implementation costs, you'll also reap the rewards of a far higher return on investment.
About The Author
Rick Crosby is CEO of a full-service internet marketing and online advertising agency, MarketingWebTraffic.com. Visit http://www.marketingwebtraffic.com for further details or contact Rick directly at 727-490-5739 or email mailto:rick@marketingwebtraffic.com.
![]() Google News Updated : Tue, 07 Oct 2008 14:49:35 GMT McCain, Obama question each other's character in latest campaign ads - Baltimore Sun
Baltimore Sun - By Paul West | paul.west@baltsun.com Washington - The presidential contest turned increasingly nasty yesterday as Sens. Barack Obama and John McCain launched new personal attacks ahead of the second presidential debate. Video: AP Campaign Minute The Note: McCain Brings Attack to Second Debate Publ.Date : Tue, 07 Oct 2008 11:47:50 GMT Study: Using fan on sleeping baby reduces risk of SIDS - San Jose Mercury News
San Jose Mercury News - By Linda Goldston Ayde Gonzales's mother was surprised when she insisted that her newborn son must sleep on his back, not on his side. Fans May Reduce Babies' Risk of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome Fan in Room Seems to Cut Infants’ Risk of Crib Death Publ.Date : Tue, 07 Oct 2008 12:46:19 GMT Kenya Detains US Author Critical of Obama - New York Times
New York Times - By JEFFREY GETTLEMAN NAIROBI, Kenya - The American author of a best-selling book highly critical of Senator Barack Obama was detained by Kenyan immigration agents on Tuesday as he prepared to give a press conference in Nairobi. Kenya Detains Author of Anti-Obama Book US anti-Obama book author faces Kenya deportation: officials Publ.Date : Tue, 07 Oct 2008 13:00:27 GMT Senator Warned a Friend That Jail Was a Risk - New York Times
New York Times - By NEIL A. LEWIS WASHINGTON - The day after the FBI confronted Bill Allen, an Alaska oil services millionaire, with evidence that he had tried to bribe state lawmakers, he reached out to Senator Ted Stevens by telephone to discuss how their ... Stevens unplugged: a defiant, salty health nut “I Love You, You Know,” and More Revelations from the Stevens Trial Publ.Date : Tue, 07 Oct 2008 12:35:08 GMT Police say Kentucky woman kills self, daughters - Forbes
Forbes - AP 10.07.08, 9:30 AM ET Police were still trying to determine Tuesday why a Louisville woman apparently stabbed her two school-age daughters to death and then shot herself. Police say Kentucky woman kills self, daughters Police say Louisville woman kills self, daughters Publ.Date : Tue, 07 Oct 2008 13:38:46 GMT OTC Cold Medicines to Be Relabeled for Young Children - Wall Street Journal
Wall Street Journal - By JENNIFER CORBETT DOOREN WASHINGTON -- Companies making over-the-counter cold and cough medicines have agreed to stop marketing the products to children younger than 4 as part of an effort to reduce accidental overdoses, an industry trade group said ... Video: Cold Meds Under Fire, Again ALERT: Drug Companies Warning to Parents Publ.Date : Tue, 07 Oct 2008 14:15:50 GMT IMF Urges Coordinated Action, Sees US Losses at $1.4 Trillion - Wall Street Journal
Wall Street Journal - By TOM BARKLEY WASHINGTON -- With losses on bad US assets alone expected to top $1.4 trillion, the International Monetary Fund urged global policy makers Tuesday to coordinate a response to an unprecedented financial crisis that continues to spread. IMF warns of deeper slowdown amid crisis IMF in 'severe downturn' warning Publ.Date : Tue, 07 Oct 2008 13:21:55 GMT RSS to HTML |
PARLOT::Ebooks, Scripts,
Websites, and more... The most basic question any Internet business owner will have... Read More There's no doubt about it . . .Big changes are... Read More Everybody makes mistakes, but nobody likes to talk about them.... Read More During a saxophone lesson the other day I realized how... Read More There has never been a more exciting and profitable time... Read More TIME DEMON. For online marketers, time is one of their... Read More Remember that leaders spend more money on learning and growing,... Read More What is direct marketing? Put simply, direct marketing is a... Read More An Internet marketing strategy is important if you plan on... Read More The path toward success in Internet marketing can be a... Read More It's well known that internet marketers are in the business... Read More Article Marketing Creates a Steady Flow of Fresh ContentArticle writers,... Read More My wife laughs every time she sees me doing it.At... Read More Everyone is talking about blogs these days as the magic... Read More Understanding that the Internet is another vehicle for direct response... Read More The most optimistic success rate I have run across for... Read More I don't know what you are promoting, or what methods... Read More Developing an ad Campaign for the Startup E-businessOnline advertising has... Read More This year, 2005, will see the demise of some well... Read More The Olympic motto is "Citius, Altius, Fortius" meaning "Swifter, Higher,... Read More Many people work for hours and hours, days and days... Read More 1. Publish an ezine.Your ezine will help you to stay... Read More If you use PPC advertising and are in a highly... Read More Website advertising is an art and you must understand its... Read More Analyzing your web traffic statistics can be an invaluable tool... Read More
Adsense
websites
What Businesses are Succeeding on the Net?
Internet Marketing is Changing Right Before Your Eyes!
Online Business Mistakes
Build Your Marketing Muscle
Creating Information Products For Money, Image And Success
Time Management And Organization For Online Marketers
Sheep Spend and Lose, Leaders Make Money
How Knowing Your Customer via Direct Marketing Helps Your Online Business to Prosper
How to Choose an Internet Marketing Strategy on a Shoestring Budget
How to Earn at Least One Dollar for Every Website Visitor
3 Steps To Effectively Increase Your Marketing Response
The Right Way to Use Other People?s Articles on Your Website
The REAL Secret to Building A High-Profit Internet Business
Blog and Ping ? A Search Engine Traffic Bonanza
5 Things Every Internet Marketer Must Learn From Mail Order To Increase Their Profits Now!
Seven Reasons Why New Products Fail
Collective Courtesy
Starting an Ad Campaign
Can You Provide an Internet Advertising Solution?
How To Top The Medal Tables With Your Website
Tracking Google and Googlebot Using PHP
7 Quick Marketing Tips To Uplift Your Profits
New Form of Click Fraud Discovered
Website Advertising: How to Seduce Your Website Visitors And Make Them To Buy From You
Analyzing Website Traffic
There's no doubt about it . . .Big changes are... Read More
For large corporations, a marketing plan is a huge document... Read More
Today we are going to discuss a very important requirement... Read More
These myths about online marketing. Seasoned marketers and beginners alike... Read More
The right strategies to win a share of the Internet... Read More
There are many websites that will host your articles on... Read More
One of the greatest challenges businesses face is how to... Read More
One of the best and fastest ways to build your... Read More
You Do Not Need To Be An Internet Marketing Guru... Read More
So you've just sold another digital product; things are going... Read More
Pay Per Call is the next wave of advertising on... Read More
One of the reasons that people fail to earn anything... Read More
The backbone of business success is communication.And networking is one... Read More
Hold a discount sale on your web site. Use the... Read More
Multimedia here and multimedia there. Is it just a flashy... Read More
1. Find a strategic business partner. Look for ones that... Read More
Are you looking for ways of persuading your web site... Read More
Does your online marketing campaign have a flat tire? Or... Read More
Critical Mass Website Promotion is the elite goal rarely attained... Read More
There is lots of freelance help available on the internet,... Read More
You can't row a boat without an oar or build... Read More
Yes, it has been ten successful years of online marketing... Read More
Do you want to unleash a tsunami of sales at... Read More
Hoo boy, I am sticking my neck out here! Ready... Read More
If you've been utilizing the Internet for any length of... Read More
Internet Marketing |